Last Updated on October 1, 2026

Most business current accounts pay nothing, so every pound of working capital sitting in one is a quiet donation to the bank.
We read the published business savings rates of 18 providers on 1 October 2026, with the Bank of England base rate at 3.75%. On 1 October 2026 the best easy access business rate we read was Shawbrook’s 3.86% and the best one-year fixed was Redwood Bank’s 4.80%, while Lloyds paid 0.50% on its Business Instant Access account.
Easy access, read on 1 October 2026
| Provider | Product | AER | Minimum | Worth knowing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shawbrook | Easy Access Business Account | 3.86% variable | £1,000 | Next working day access; £500,000 cap |
| Recognise Bank | Business Easy Access | 3.15% (3.55% from £85,001) | £1,000 | Notice accounts pay up to 4.00% |
| Allica | Easy Access | 2.80% | Not stated | Also a Savings Pot at up to 4.08% with conditions, for its £50,000+ Rewards account holders |
| Aldermore | Easy Access | 2.45% | £1,000 | Notice accounts pay more |
| Barclays | Business Premium Account | 2.015% | None | Rates page we read was headed 3 August 2023 |
| HSBC | Business Money Manager | Tiered; the page we read still showed its early-2026 grids at 1.33% to 1.43% AER | None | Check the live page before relying on it |
| NatWest | Business Reserve | 0.85% to 1.46% tiered | None stated | Top tier needs very large balances |
| Santander | Business Everyday Saver | 0.80% | £1 | 1.00% on its no-withdrawal Reward Saver |
| Lloyds | Business Instant Access | 0.50% at £1+ | £1 | Reaches 1.21% only at £20m |

App accounts: the saver is inside the current account
Tide’s Instant Saver pays 1.5%, 2.5%, 3% or 3.25% AER depending on whether you are on its Free, Smart, Pro or Max plan, with a four-month introductory rate advertised as up to 4%. Monzo Business advertises an instant access pot at up to 3.25% AER. We found no business savings product at Starling, and Zempler’s savings pot pays 0.75% on its Pro plan only, capped at £10,000. Wise’s interest feature paid 3.32% on GBP after its 0.55% fee when we read it, and it is an investment fund, so the value can fall and FSCS deposit protection does not apply.
Fixed and notice: where the real rates are
| Provider | One-year fixed AER | Minimum |
|---|---|---|
| Redwood Bank | 4.80% | £10,000 |
| Shawbrook | 4.76% | £5,000 |
| Aldermore | 4.70% | £1,000 |
| Cambridge & Counties | 4.60% | £20,000 |
| Hampshire Trust Bank | 4.36% | £5,000 |
| OakNorth | 4.25% | Aimed at larger businesses |
| Recognise Bank | 4.20% | £1,000 |
| Allica | 4.00% | Not stated |

A one-year fix beats the base rate on every row of that table. The price is access: a tax bill that lands mid-term cannot come out of a fixed bond, which is why many businesses split the pot between an easy access account and a fix.
Three checks before you move the money
The protection limit is per licence
FSCS cover is £120,000 per business per banking licence, and it is shared across your current and savings balances at the same bank. A sole trader’s personal money at the same bank shares the limit too. The detail is on our FSCS protection on business accounts page.
Rates on the big banks’ pages can be old
The Barclays rates page we read was headed 3 August 2023, and HSBC’s still displayed a rate change from March 2026 as upcoming. Treat a printed rate as a claim to verify on the day you apply.
Who can open it
Redwood’s bond takes sole traders, partnerships, limited companies and charities with turnover between £250,000 and £50m. OakNorth aims at larger businesses. The challenger banks with the best rates are often the fussiest about who opens, so read the eligibility line before the rate.
Count what sits idle in the current account, put a year of it against the table above, and the account that pays nothing starts to look like the dearest one you hold. Our best business bank accounts UK page covers the current account side of the same decision.
Questions
What is the best business savings rate in the UK?
Of the pages we read on 1 October 2026: Shawbrook paid 3.86% on easy access (£1,000 minimum) and Redwood Bank paid 4.80% on a one-year fixed bond (£10,000 minimum). Rates move, so check the provider’s page on the day.
Are business savings accounts FSCS protected?
The banks in our table protect eligible deposits up to £120,000 per business per banking licence. Money in your current and savings accounts at the same bank shares one limit, and a sole trader’s personal and business money at the same bank shares one limit too.
Do Starling or Monzo pay interest on business money?
Monzo Business offers an instant access savings pot advertising up to 3.25% AER. We found no business savings product at Starling; its fixed saver is personal only. Tide’s Instant Saver pays 1.5% to 3.25% AER depending on plan.
Is Wise Interest a savings account?
No. Wise’s GBP interest feature is an investment fund paying 3.32% after its 0.55% fee when we read it. It carries investment protection, and the value can fall.


